I think I’m getting the hang of it…

Alright, it only took me a month and a half, but I think I’m kinda getting the hang of things. I’m basically just working problems now for the MCAT. I love bio and orgo and genchem…Even when I mess up, I’m interested in learning why I got it wrong. So it hasn’t been too difficult to keep myself going. What I’m working on now is the whole “getting started” part. Some days I’ll procrastinate to no end…but lately, even on those days, I’ll actually sit down and do it in the evening. I’m not bragging y’all. It really is a true miracle. Usually, if I don’t get it done in the morning, my books will stay clamped shut. I have an unfortunate all-or-nothing mindset, and I’m working really hard to relax into “get it done, but if not, get some done. if not that either, relax, the world will not end.”

Of course, physics is still a pain in the butt. I must really not be a great thinker. That’s kind of discouraging, because I want to be a good doctor, and I don’t want my lack of common sense to be detrimental to anyone. 😦 But I’m working hard, and hopefully, common sense and thinking skills come with practice. And I will do my best to make up with diligence! 

Last but not least…Verbal. Yeah, I have yet to start that. I guess I should do that. 

Some things I’ve noticed:
1. I started timing myself for bio passages. I get nervous and speed through the readings and questions – I’ve been averaging 3-4 min/passage….therefore making silly mistakes! So, one minute does not go by as fast as I thought it would. Lovely!
2. It’s REEEEEALLLY helpful to take easy classes.
Oh I guess I’ve only really noticed two things. 

Well I’ve emailed my profs for LOR, and I got my butt to the gym. But now I’m worried about the whole “pre-med advisor LOR.” Because my school doesn’t have one anymore. Ruh rohs.

The weather was BEAUTIFUL today! I enjoyed a lovely walk with my roommate and saw a bunch of pretty houses. Maybe I should become an architect. HA!

4 thoughts on “I think I’m getting the hang of it…

  1. Girl, don’t even think about feeling bad about physics being challenging for you. None of it makes any sense to me without REALLY working for it, and it ended up being my best subscore on the MCAT. You’re working hard and putting in the effort, and that, not the degree of your affinity for physics, is what is going to make you a great doctor! Keep your cool and just keep studying!

    Also, as a sidenote, my school doesn’t have a pre-med advisor either. It really doesn’t make a difference once application time comes; I got science professors, my research PI, and a humanities professor that I know really well. Med schools care a lot more that it’s someone who knows you well and/or a science professor than if it’s a pre-med advisor or not.

    Best of luck with studying and preparing your application! 🙂

    1. Thank you! Your encouragement really means so much to me!! It’s been something I’ve been struggling to tell myself daily…

      And that’s awesome! I guess the only thing that worried me was that the school specifically mentions that they want an LOR from the premed advisor, but I guess there’s not much they can do if we don’t have one at all! I guess that’s more of a blessing than anything since, like you said, I’d much prefer the people who know me better!

  2. I’m pretty sure most medschools understand if you can’t get a letter from a pre-med advisor because you don’t have one. 😉 I think it only becomes a problem if you are unable to get one when your school has a pre-med advisor. They give you a chance to explain if you tell them that you’re sending them a packet of letters (vs. committee letter).

Talk to Me

