Book Hangovers and a Recap

My summer vacation has flown by. It is one of the few that has not dragged on, where I’m ready to go back to school just to do something.

A brief recap… I spent the first few weeks being incredibly lazy and lounged around to my heart’s content. I read Tamora Pierce’s Song of the Lioness quartet and the next quartet with Daine, and loved them both. (I have really taken a liking to children’s fiction…any other suggestions?)
Then I spent a week with my mom, and this was fantastic. We drank wine and ate cheese and bread and I enjoyed myself immensely. I was sad to say goodbye, but headed eagerly into my next adventure….Europe!

Neuschwanstein Castle in Füssen
Neuschwanstein Castle in Füssen

We started in Munich, which had absolutely wonderful weather. I practiced my German a bit, learned how to work the Underground (or U-Bahn) and finally gained a taste for beer. Salzburg was next – what a delight! I loved The Sound of Music growing up, and so dragged my travel buddy around to see all of the sights. Berlin…I’ll blame the bad weather (100 degrees F – record highs since the 1800s!), but it was just too hot to enjoy anything!
Then Amsterdam! Amsterdam is so beautiful. I loved the canals and the variety of designs of the houses. We also popped by Zaanse Schans. Everything looked like Instagram. From there we went to Belgium, and it was equally as beautiful and quaint. We did a day trip to Bruges and Ghent, and I really wish we had had more time for Bruges. Belgian waffles are NOT overrated – they are dense, sweet, crispy, glazed bestowers of happiness.
Paris I could have skipped, but did enjoy seeing the Louvre and walking around Montmarte.
But London…London stole my heart. The British were exceptionally friendly (perhaps, though, because I could speak their language 🙂 ), the weather was absolutely perfect for us, and I could not get over the English gardens. After WWII, gardens were introduced into the city to cheer people up, and I must say, although it sounds like a silly plan, it certainly would have worked on me. Also, we visited Stonehenge, and although it was quite a bit smaller than I would have thought, I thoroughly enjoyed seeing it and the English countryside. I could just imagine reading Jane Austen or Wuthering Heights here.

Of course, the first thing I did when I got home was reread the Harry Potter series. I hadn’t reread them in a while, and felt like I could really appreciate some of the cultural differences a bit more because of my time spent in London.

However, I regret my decision severely, because I am now suffering from the worst book hangover. I cannot get over this glum feeling, the feeling that I’ve lost something very important and have no hopes of every re-gaining. I guess the closest I can compare this feeling to is a break-up. You know that person is out there in the world, but you just aren’t a part of his/her life anymore.
I also chose the worst time to inflict this upon myself, because July 31st is coming up…which means every time I begin to remotely feel better, Buzzfeed puts out a new HP article in honor of JK Rowling’s and HP’s birthday. Then I spiral down into misery because I’ll never know what happens to these characters that I’m so attached to.

If anyone has suggestions on how to get over book hangovers, please let me know asap because I am so sad.

On a brighter note, I am starting Med School in less than a week….!!! I am nervous and excited and panicking. Cheers!

9 thoughts on “Book Hangovers and a Recap

  1. Neuschwanstein Castle looks so beautiful! We are there in Munich for the Oktoberfest in late September, but doesn’t look like I will be able to see this beautiful castle..sigh!

    1. It is! But Oktoberfest will be exciting! We visited Therienwiese, and I can’t even imagine how it will look with 9 million people stuffed in. I hope you have a great time!

  2. I know what you mean about the book hangover! I used to get those all the times as a kid. *hugs*

    As for kid lit, last summer, I tried to read through the NPR list called “Backseat Books for Kids.” It’s a compilation of award-winning books for children. I really did love the Song of the Lioness series as a kid. Have you ever read Howl’s Moving Castle? It’s a part of series. I loved those as well. 🙂

    And, good look in med school!!

    1. I know! I didn’t think I could get them as an adult (especially with a series I already read…), but it was pretty bad. I LOVE the Howl series! Have you seen the Miyazaki film adaptation? It’s not quite like the book, but I like it all the same. I’m trying to find another one of Diane Wynne Jones’s series to pick up, but can’t decide which! Thanks for the NPR recommendation. I’ll definitely look into it!

Talk to Me

